Spring Tides : an exceptional maritime phenomenon

Spring tides dates in la Manche

 

Come to Normandy during a period of full moon and observe the Spring tides, a phenomenon unique in Europe.

These are visible when the tidal range is above 90; it will be the case for a few days each month between February and December.

 

Come and enjoy the magic of the spring tides
and (re)discover Mont Saint-Michel surrounded by water,
go fishing or admire the tidal bore.

 

There’s so much to do and the show is spectacular. You might even get the chance to see the access road to Mont Saint-Michel underwater!

 

 

Below is the calendar of the next Spring Tides in la Manche.

 

Month Dates Tidal range
February Monday 27 February
Tuesday 28 February
100
102 / 103
March

Wednesday 1 March
Tuesday 28 March
Wednesday 29 March
Thursday 30 March
Friday 31 March

103 / 101
101 / 105
108 / 109
109 / 108
104 / 100

April Wednesday 26 April
Thursday 27 April
Friday 28 April
Saturday 29 April
102 / 106
109 / 110
110 / 109
105 / 101
May Thursday 25 May
Friday 26 May
Saturday 27 May
Sunday 28 May
103
105 / 107
107 / 106
103 / 100
June Saturday 24 June
Sunday 25 June
Monday 26 June
102
103
102 / 100
Month Dates Tidal range
July Monday 24 July
Tuesday 25 July
100 / 101
102 / 100
August

Tuesday 22 August
Wednesday 23 August

101
101

October Friday 6 October
Saturday 7 October
Sunday 8 October
102
103 / 104
103 / 101
November Saturday 4 November
Sunday 5 November
Monday 6 November
Tuesday 7 November
101 / 104
106 / 107
106 / 104
101
December Sunday 3 December
Monday 4 December
Tuesday 5 December
102
105 / 107
107 / 106

 

 

 

 
Data extracted from maree.info

 

 

 

Must do and see during Spring Tides :

 

> Surf the tidal bore in a canoe. Less experienced visitors may prefer to watch it from the mainland!

> For a few hours or a whole night, let yourself be trapped in the village of Mont Saint-Michel.

> Put your wellies on and go out with a rake to collect dog cockles, razor-shells and clams. Please be reminded that rockpooling is regulated in our order to preserve natural resources.

> Enjoy long walks on the foreshore, a portion of sand which is revealed only during Spring Tides.

 

Your stay during spring tides

 

>> Book an holiday rental in the bay of Mont Saint-Michel

>> Book an hotel in the bay of Mont Saint-Michel

 

 

 

week end normandie

The tidal phenomenon

Each day, the sea level varies with the phenomenon of tidal force.
But depending on the position of the sun and the moon in relation to the Earth, the tidal range can be more or less extreme. When a full moon lines up with the sun and the Earth, the attraction is so strong that it results in the spring tide, when the tide’s range is at its maximum.

Combined with its favourable geographical location, the Bay of Mont Saint-Michel is the perfect place to discover the spring tides!

 

 

 

week-end normandieThe tidal bore

Spring Tides are also the occasion to observe a spectacular natural phenomenon: the Tidal Bore. This wave of about 50 cm high rushes into the Bay of Mont Saint Michel offering spectators and kayakers a unique moment.
 
Best spots to observe the bore :
> La pointe du Grouin du Sud (near Vains),
> Pontaubault,
> Mont Saint-Michel.