Abbey of Hambye

Religious buildings

Our Lady of Hambye Abbey was founded in 1145 along the river Sienne by Guillaume Painel, lord of Hambye. The abbey hosts Benedictine monks until the French Revolution. Partly dismantled in the 19th century, the abbey was saved in 1956 through the acquisition of the monastic buildings by Mr and Mrs Beck. The abbey church, the gatehouse and the lay brothers’ building were bought by the County Council of la Manche in 1964. Considerable works to restore and stabilize the remains of the abbey were undertaken. For more than 50 years the aim has been to preserve the dignity and beauty of the site and to improve its integration into the serenity of its fragile natural surroundings.
For a moment out of time, stroll through the monks’ old cloister at the foot of the church's imposing ruins, admire the fine architecture of the chapter house, jewel of norman gothic architecture and linger in the shade of Virginia tulip trees in the Eastern garden.
Protected as sensitive natural areas, the surroundings of the abbey offer multiple hiking trails to discover.
Throughout the summer, exhibitions and various workshops take place as well as concerts of medieval and sacred music.

Localisation : In the country

Visit duration : 75 min

Spoken languages :

  • English
  • Spanish
  • German

Route de l'Abbaye

50450 HAMBYE

Show phone number

Show mail


Opening period :

From 01/04/2023 till 30/06/2023

From 01/09/2022 till 30/09/2022

From 01/07/2023 till 31/08/2023

From 01/10/2022 till 23/10/2022

From 24/10/2022 till 06/11/2022

From 01/09/2023 till 30/09/2023

From 01/10/2023 till 20/10/2023

From 21/10/2023 till 05/11/2023


Payment method

  • Debit cards
  • Postal or bank cheques
  • Holiday vouchers
  • Cash

Equipments & Services


  • Covered picnic area
  • Baby changing area
  • Picnic area
  • Toilets


  • Library
  • Shop
  • Bicycle parking

Pets accepted : no